In the world of medical education in India, the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test for Undergraduates (NEET-UG) stands as a pivotal point of assessment and entry. NEET-UG is an all-India level entrance examination conducted annually by the National Testing Agency (NTA) for aspiring medical, dental and AYUSH students. This comprehensive examination determines the eligibility and competence of candidates seeking admission to undergraduate medical, dental as well as AYUSH courses across government, private, and deemed medical institutions in the country. In this article, we will delve into the intricacies of NEET-UG, its significance, structure, and the subjects it covers, along with a detailed table illustrating the marks distribution per subject.

Significance of NEET-UG :

NEET-UG was introduced with the aim of streamlining the medical and dental admission process, providing a single point of entry for students across the nation. Before the inception of NEET-UG, multiple state-level and institution-specific entrance exams existed, leading to disparities in admission criteria and difficulty levels. The introduction of NEET-UG not only reduced the burden on students who had to prepare for numerous exams but also ensured a standardized evaluation process that measured the aptitude and knowledge of all candidates uniformly.

NEET-UG Structure :

NEET-UG is a pen-and-paper-based examination with a duration of 3 hours and 20 minutes. The examination consists of multiple-choice questions (MCQs) covering four major subjects: Physics, Chemistry, Biology (Botany and Zoology). The language component can be either English or any of the 11 Indian languages listed in the official NEET-UG notification.

Each correct answer in NEET-UG awards the candidate four marks, while one mark is deducted for every incorrect answer. No marks are deducted for unattempted questions. This marking scheme emphasizes accuracy and encourages candidates to be cautious while attempting questions.

NEET-UG Paper Pattern :

NEET examination will consist of a total of 200 multiple-choice objective-type questions, out of which candidates are required to answer 180 MCQs. The NEET exam grand total of 720 marks. Each subject is divided into two sections: Section A and Section B.

Section A comprises 35 questions, while Section B contains 15 questions. Within Section B, candidates need to answer 10 questions. The question papers will be based on the syllabus of Physics, Chemistry, Zoology, and Botany from classes 11 and 12.

Candidates will receive 4 marks for each correct answer, and there will be a deduction of 1 mark for every incorrect answer.

Sr. No.


No. of Questions

Total Marks



Section A: 35 + Section B: 10 (15 provided, 10 to be answered) = 45




Section A: 35 + Section B: 10 (15 provided, 10 to be answered) = 45




Section A: 35 + Section B: 10 (15 provided, 10 to be answered) = 45




Section A: 35 + Section B: 10 (15 provided, 10 to be answered) = 45